top of page

Thank Foodness Blog

an appreciation for all things edible...

  • Writer's pictureCarole Marsh

New Year’s eve is a time to reflect.

Updated: Dec 20, 2018

Usually, I reflect on how to eat less food, better food and healthier food. I generally do this while snacking on something end-of-year sinful, knowing that my annual attempt at a so-called diet is coming soon on my calendar to-do list.


However, on this night, my husband, Bob [aka in these pages, “dear” (said in a sweet tone) or “LONGMEYER!” (as in “Hop to—now!”)] reminded me that, “Just because we’re staying in this New Year’s eve, aren’t we going to eat something special?”


This request came at around 11:30 p.m., but I agreed that reflection is fine, but to relish is just as essential.


New Year’s Eve Oysters


I scrounged up 1 jar of excellent fresh oysters and:

On a foil-lined cookie sheet, place a dozen pre-toasted French garlic rounds. (Toast points would work, as would crackers.) Saute the oysters in a small pan on the stove in butter. Drain and put 1-2 oysters on each round.


We had just watched Clemson University’s football team win the Orange Bowl, which reminded me that I had a new carton of Clemson bleu cheese crumbles. I sprinkled these generously over the oysters. Next, I covered them with panko bread crumbs, cracked black pepper and dried chives.


I kept them all in an oval-shaped nest so that once I put them beneath a low broiler, the cheese would melt onto fellow crackers, not onto the foil. Broil until the cheese melts and the cracker crumbs are slightly brown.


We had them hot off the press at a table set for two with Tabasco and Andre’s Cold Duck. On our white Vietri plates with a pot of baby’s breath and paperwhites, and my new Forever candles lit, it was BETTER than going out, for we were in our jammies, and finished up just in time to watch Live at Lincoln Center on PBS, pour more champagne and get ready to watch the ball drop in Time’s Square.


Resolution: Simple works.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page